Delegates to the IPA General Assemby elected Richard Charkin (Executive Director, Bloomsbury Publishing, UK) as Vice-President for a one-year term.

The IPA's new statutes mean that the Vice President will become President of IPA in 2015. Others to be elected to the Executive Committee were Eva Bonnier (Albert Bonnier Förlag, Sweden), Michiel Kolman (Elsevier, the Netherlands), and Hugo Setzer (Manual Moderno, México). Re-nominated to the Executive Committee were Richard Charkin and Urban Meister (Cornelsen Schulverlage, Germany).

“Proud to serve the global publishing family” 
International Publishers Association elects Richard Charkin as Vice-President and five members of the IPA Executive Committee

The General Assembly of the International Publishers Association (IPA), meeting in Frankfurt on 10 October 2013, elected Richard Charkin (Bloomsbury, UK) as IPA Vice-President for a one-year term. Charkin is set to succeed Youngsuk "Y.S." Chi as President on 1st January 2015.

IPA Vice-President Richard Charkin says: “Publishing is an honourable business. In essence, we are here to serve writers, illustrators and creative people by editing, designing, producing, promoting, selling, and collecting money on their behalf for their ideas. Authors are at the heart of our industry—novelists, poets, dramatists, textbook writers, scientists, scholars, illustrators—and IPA need them to support us if we are to continue to invest securely for the future.” “I have been extraordinarily lucky in my career to have worked in such a great industry with such great people. I am honoured to repay some of the debt I owe to that industry and to those people. I am proud to serve the global publishing family.”

IPA’s General Assembly also elected five Executive Committee members:

  • Eva Bonnier (Albert Bonnier Förlag, Sweden);
  • Richard Charkin (Bloomsbury, United Kingdom);
  • Michiel Kolman (Elsevier, the Netherlands);
  • Urban Meister (Cornelsen Schulverlage, Germany);
  • and Hugo Setzer (Manual Moderno, México).

They will serve on the fifteen-member IPA Executive Committee for three-year terms.

Ola Wallin (Coltso Ersatz, Sweden) was appointed Chair of the Freedom to Publish Committee.

Submit to FacebookSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn

Latest related Blogs Posts - Copyright

International Publishers Association

23, avenue de France
1202 Geneva, Switzerland
+41 22 704 18 20

Subscribe to our newsletter